Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

2" lift kit?

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2009, 02:28 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2" lift kit?

Just wondering about whats better...a 2" lift kit or high lifter springs...also what r the benifits of both?
I already have 26" tires.

Old 09-08-2009, 01:59 AM
No Ruts, No Glory

why would you need either one, unless you are going to run larger (taller) tires?

Old 09-08-2009, 08:20 AM
Weekend Warrior

that's why I'm asking as I'm still new to the sport...I do trail riding and some deep mudding along the way.

Old 09-09-2009, 10:42 PM
No Ruts, No Glory

I would stick with what you have, and just enjoy getting more riding experience.

The 26's are just right for what you have. You could go a little taller up to a 27", but taller than that and you will lose a noticable amount of low end power, which you need when you are muddin' about.

You will not lose any handling keeping it at the stock height, but a lift kit or high lift springs will raise the center of gravity, making it harder to keep all four on the ground when you are cornering hard or sidehilling...plus if you are riding with a passenger, you are already dealing with a higher COG (center of gravity) which causes more instability.

Were it me, I would get an exhaust pipe and an air filter and adjust my EFI if needed, and get out and ride

Enjoy your cat!!!!

Old 09-12-2009, 01:24 AM
Pro Rider

I have had 26inch mud lites and High lifter HD springs on my 400 in the past. I use my machine to haul LOTS of big heavy building materials to my remote hunting cabin. I still use the HD springs but currently run 25 inch mud lite tires. I like this setup better as I feel the engine turns the tires much easier and I still have plenty of ground clearance when carrying a heavy load.