Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

2005 arctic cat 500 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2010, 05:47 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 arctic cat 500 4x4

my highbeams and brake light are not working but the lights do turn on, just no brake light and no brights. anyone got ani ideas what that could be? could it be a simple fuse? im not very good with mechanics. also, the machine was outdoors in the cold for quite some time and i charged the battery and it started no problem, runs excellent but if i leave it off and then start it even a few hours later it wont start, its like the battery doesnt hold the charge or something. any information or pointers would be much appreciated, thanks.

Old 02-22-2010, 11:03 AM
Pro Rider

I am not sure if the two are related or not very hard to tell.

I would start wit hthe easy one first. The battery. Remove it from the machine take it inside and trickle charge it over night. USe a voltage meter set to DC voltage and test the battery voltage between terminals. You should get something around 12-13 volts DC. Let the battery sit for about 12-24 hours not hooked up. Retest the voltage. YOu should have very minimal drop.

Usually what happens is you have 12.8volts after charging and 12 hours later has dropped to less than 10 volts. Which can cause starting issues.

The reason for removing it from the machine is you may have a short that is draining the battery AND causing your issue withthe lights.

If the battery looses voltage to around 10volts just sitting there the battery needs to be replaced. Charge the new battery for the anount of time specified with its instructions and put it into the ATV and see if you still have starting issues the next day.

If not, then check your lights.

Note the position of the terminals and the physical size of the battery and go to like Wally's and you can get a replacement for like $40. Otherwise the dealer will charge you $100 or more.

Hope this helps.

SJ