Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

2001 Artic Cat 300 4x4-tire question

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2014, 08:13 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Artic Cat 300 4x4-tire question

Hello, I am a newbie both here and with artic cat. I have a few questions that I hope someone can answer. 1st off my cat overheats after about 1 hr of use. I just changed the oil and filter from a supposedly very well maintained machine. Hmm I took out 2 and a bit liters of black, thick and feeling dry oil and put in 3.5 liters of new oil and a filter. Maybe that will help the over heat. The rad is pretty clean. Any ideas??? advice?

Next I have 25 x 10 x 12 tires on the back. I have a set of 26x12x12 tires and wonder if they will fit.

Thanks for the help
G.

Old 08-21-2014, 09:17 AM
TLC
Extreme Pro Rider
God forbid he lets the polishing secret out!

You have to keep a 4x4 at its original tire ratio while in 4wd or the front drive will be fighting the rear drive line.
So if you move to 26" rears you will have to move to 25" fronts.
Stock it is 24" front and 25" rear.
The 26x12 should fit the rear since the rear has lots of room to spare unlike the front.

I put 26x11 Zillas on the rear of my 350 Grizzly/Bruin and had lots of room to go bigger yet.

Its a air/oil cooled motor how do you know its over heating?

Old 08-21-2014, 10:47 AM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by TLC
You have to keep a 4x4 at its original tire ratio while in 4wd or the front drive will be fighting the rear drive line.
So if you move to 26" rears you will have to move to 25" fronts.
Stock it is 24" front and 25" rear.
The 26x12 should fit the rear since the rear has lots of room to spare unlike the front.

I put 26x11 Zillas on the rear of my 350 Grizzly/Bruin and had lots of room to go bigger yet.

Its a air/oil cooled motor how do you know its over heating?
Hi, Thanks very much for the reply.