ATV Racing Discussions on ATV racing.

Race Write-up from Miller Ranch (2016 TORN rd 9)

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2016, 04:07 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Lightbulb Race Write-up from Miller Ranch (2016 TORN rd 9)

Last weekend, my son (Cash) and I loaded up "Old Faithful" (our trusty 2012 RZR 900xp), and made the 4-hour road trip on Sunday morning to Cash, Texas to compete in the last race of the 2016 TORN season. I was very excited for this day to finally arrive b/c it was my first race in 8 months. I took some time off this year from racing to finish a book that I’ve been writing for 4 years and finally got it published this month. Below is my race write-up.

WHERE:
Cash, TX… it’s a tiny town about 5 miles south of Greenville and 45 miles east of Dallas. Miller Ranch has a nice combo of tight woods, open pastures and an MX section. I’m no stranger to this property b/c I have raced here many times. A decade ago, this property was called Caddo Point and was used to host ATVCCS races and other fun events like the Maxxis 6-hour race. Lots of great memories were made on this property including this 2006 race as featured in ATV Riders… ATVCCS Round 12: Caddo Point Cross-Country Atv Racing

TRACK CONDITIONS:
On Sunday, we enjoyed a beautiful fall day with temps near the mid-60s and sunny skies. The track was mostly dry and dusty in certain areas, especially in the MX section. The bright sun made seeing the course a challenge at times, especially when racing through the woods where my (dusty) goggles would repeatedly pick up a short burst of glare from sunshine and then shade from overhead trees as we raced through the thick woods.

PARADE LAP: