Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

2003 Polaris 250 Trailblazer 2 stroke quad a good reliable quad?

Old 11-19-2016, 10:57 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Polaris 250 Trailblazer 2 stroke quad a good reliable quad?

Hi my name is Brianna and am looking to buy my first quad. Someone I know has a 2003 250 Trailblazer 2 stroke for sale. It has a fresh engine rebuild from a Polaris dealership. He's asking $1800. I'm new to quads and would like to know if it's a good solid reliable quad and if the asking price sounds fair? Any advice on the quad would be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!!

Old 11-19-2016, 11:16 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

If it's clean,not abused and does have a new engine.Might be worth it. Keep in mind KBB has it listed for $1000 and Nada at 900 retail. It would have be in almost perfect condition even with a new engine to be worth anything near $1800. Ask for repair receipts on the engine. If it's just a top end,no. If it's been rebuilt from the rod and bearings up then it might be worth your time. Plenty of clean entry level Trailblzers out there besides his.

Old 11-19-2016, 02:34 PM
Pro Rider

You can do better for that price. I bought a nice 2002 Arctic Cat 400 FIS (4 stroke) for $1,400. IMHO a 4 stroke will be faster and use half the gas. Unless you really like the "da did ding ding, pop,pop" and smoke. I had a 2 stroke Polaris 400 sportsman, before getting the AC 400. The 4 stroke AC 400 is 10x better. Only thing the 2 stroke could do better was pop a wheelie.

Old 11-20-2016, 01:36 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts