Camping, Hiking and Exploring Gear Discussion on camping, hiking, and exploring gear.

What do *you* use your GPS for?

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2010, 01:08 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been using a GPS in the woods, regularly, for over 10 years. The single most important thing to remember is that you cannot rely on it to get you out. Carry and know how to use a compass and map, mark your trail and stay aware.

That said my first hand-held still works and has never let me down. Take care of your gear and it will usually take good care of you.

Carry spare batts.

I download my tracks and relevant points, pictures and notes into Google Earth, creating an excellent database for hunting, etc., as well as for generating maps for exploring, hunting and for leaving at home, in the event something happens to me (I spend nearly all of my time in the wilderness alone and wouldn't mind getting rescued if snot hits the fan)

The reverse also works. If I see something interesting, I sometimes note the lat/long on Google Earth, then enter it into my GPS and head out to find it.

Old 05-23-2010, 07:23 PM
Range Rover

I have yet to use mine on my atv but use it on my snowmobile all the time. I set way points for bars and gas stations along the trail in case we run low and need to find our way to some gas. It prevents me from having to stop at all intersections and look at sign posts for directions. If I am by town A and want to go to town B I can bring up the city closest to my next destination and a compass will lead me that direction even if I am not looking at the trail map it self. My Garmin Rino has the 2 way radio if I loose communication. With the Rino anyone else in your party will show up on your map when they key the mic to talk so you can keep track of anyone.

Old 05-24-2010, 12:23 PM
Extreme Pro Rider