CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

DS650 Performance Concerns

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2012, 05:08 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DS650 Performance Concerns

Hi, I have an '01 DS650. I have had it for only a short time, and since I bought it I have been fixing and replacing parts and getting it running well. I finally have it running perfectly. I had a chance to get out with my buddy and run some trails, it worked great on the trails, engine runs beautifully. Here is my concern:

I have 22" rear tires, so to help get a little more low end I put a 15T front sprocket and kept the 40 back. I used a GPS and found my top speed with a hill and a tail wind was under 90 km.h, or about 55 mph. I thought this was far to slow. In addition to that, as good as it is running, my buddy was able to beat me off the line with his Honda 250 ATC!!!!! what gives! I am a very good driver, and had higher expectations with this machine. With my current gearing and setup I expected to at least hit the 110- 120 km/h range, and outrun at least a 30 year old trike.

What could cause it to run like this? The engine SEEMS perfect! in 5th gear, my revs are maxing out at around 5000, never gets higher than that.... carb is jetted, everything tuned up.... no idea what to do? ANy help or advice, please provide.... Im stuck on this one. Thanks

Old 03-18-2012, 06:28 PM
Banned

you got big problems if you think its running good and its only seeing 5,000 rpms ....

stock rev limmit is around 7,200 I think and most cant stand that and replace the cdi to get 8,200 rpms or better on a stock motor ... stock you should see 75mph or so ... my baja X is running 9,300 rpms and 90mph .....

Old 03-18-2012, 06:48 PM
Military Rider
My hobbies are NASCAR, Rockin' in the Free World, and riding my Sand Pigs at every available opportunity.