CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Can Am 500 XT primarily for farm work - opinions please!

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2014, 07:55 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can Am 500 XT primarily for farm work - opinions please!

Hello:

I am new to Can Am. I just traded a 2012 Honda Rubicon 500 for a 2014 Can Am 500xt but now I am worried as I do not see much on the Can Am forums about using them for work. I bought the Honda for farm work. Primarily to tow a manure spreader daily from stall to stall, pull a drag in my ring once or twice a week and basic farm chores such as hauling hay, etc. The Honda was supposed to be a work horse but after a year and a half, I was done. As it did not have fuel injection, it hated the being turned on/off at each stall (4 stalls daily) and would constantly stall out. I would have to sit n the machine for 10 minutes to feather the gas to even get it to warm up which got old fast in the winter. Even once warmed up, it would stall out frequently when I was spreading the manure. In any event, after the dealer could not help me (after several tries and adjustments), I decided to trade it in before next winter for a fuel injected machine I could turn up and let warm up on its own without my assistance.

I was going to get a Yamaha Grizzly but the dealer near us is not great and it turned out that, after rebate and with the Can Am dealer waiving the $400 freight/handling charge, the Can Am 500 XT was the same price as the Grizzly with a winch installed. The Can Am dealer has a great reputation and has been good to us with service on our Ferris ZRT mower.