CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

My new Oulander L 500

Old 08-29-2014, 08:41 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My new Oulander L 500

Hi all

I've purchased a new Outlander L 500 two day ago and have put 127 miles on it so far...great machine. I'm new to ATVs but not to motorsports. I've owned lots of bikes and snowmobiles over the past 40 some odd years and have done all of my own wrenching on them. I'm far from being a pro mechanic but I really enjoy the inner workings of machines as much as riding them.

I've test riden several brands and have noticed one common factor...gear whine, especially at higher speeds. I figure it comes from staight cut gears in the tranny...am I right? What about the diffs, are they also straight cut? I've tested Cats and Polaris and watched a video on the Grizzly and could hear it whining also. Are the Hondas with manual trans without a sub tranny any quieter?

I may be buying a 2nd machine next spring and am looking for a quieter one.

Looking forward to your answers and expertise.

Skidoo Grampa

Old 08-29-2014, 09:18 AM
Pro Rider

Congrats on the new machine. Those L's look like solid machines

The cvt whine/high rev is my #1 complaint about them. No switching into a higher gear to bring the rpms back down. Honda is the only company that doesn't use the rubber belt style CVT. They are a lot quiter, especially once you get going.

Old 08-29-2014, 09:50 AM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by HondaR24
Congrats on the new machine. Those L's look like solid machines

The cvt whine/high rev is my #1 complaint about them. No switching into a higher gear to bring the rpms back down. Honda is the only company that doesn't use the rubber belt style CVT. They are a lot quiter, especially once you get going.
Thanks Rancher