Chinese Quads Brands such as Jetmoto, Yamoto, Redcat, V-Bike, Hi Bird, and Kazuma

Tao Tao 150B Quad - Cranks but doesn't start

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2015, 10:20 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tao Tao 150B Quad - Cranks but doesn't start

Hey all,

New to the forum and glad to be here. I have been messing with this quad on/off for the last several months. I travel quite a bit, so I rarely get a chance to devote some good time on troubleshooting.

Now, I am not mechanically inclined, but i know how to take things apart, put them back together, I know how to use a multimeter, check compression, and check spark. I take apart electronics all the time.

I got this quad on a trade and before trading, the quad worked beautifully. We rode for about an hour then took the quad home. When we got home, rode for another hour or so, then in the garage it went.

The next time we rode it, it wouldn't start due to a dead battery. Replaced battery and off we go. Rode for about 15 minutes, then died. Since then, I have not been able to get it to start. It cranks and cranks and cranks, but never turns over. I have tried taking the carb out and cleaning as suggested online/youtube cleaning jets and all. I am getting spark. I have even tried carb cleaner in the spark plug hole... nothing seems to work. When I try carb cleaner, it sounds like it wants to turn over, but when i apply throttle, sounds like it just chokes out and dies.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! It is starting to cool down here so I might have some time to do more troubleshooting. My boys are bummed because we haven't been able to ride since we got it a year ago.

Thanks in advance!

Old 09-08-2015, 09:30 AM
Super Quad Patrol
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts

are you getting a good strong spark? Iv seen them have spark but its not enough to fire the machine up.

Old 09-08-2015, 03:41 PM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by Zrock