Farming, Beef, Dairy, Insect, Equipment, ETC. Discussion on farming, beef, dairy, insect, equipment, etc

Keeping bees

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2009, 12:51 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Keeping bees

Do any of you guys keep honey bees? This is my first year, and I am starting out with 2 hives. I bought a 3rd in case I find a swarm. I bought the bees from a local commercial keeper who is also our inspector. I got 2 nucs. They are looking good so far, hitting the apple trees, dandelions, and lilacs. I must say the workings of a colony are fascinating, and once I started reading about it I was hooked. It is amazing what these little girls can do. If there are any other bee keepers out there let me know, and for those of you that don't know much about the honeybee, google it, and before long I bet you are just as fascinated as I am about them. You'll be ordering your hives within days.

Old 04-29-2009, 01:54 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

A good friend & co-worker started with 1 hive last summer. They did not make it through the winter. Was a mess trying to get all the dead ones off the comb. He got another hive this year and plans on feeding them until at least november or they get dormant. Kinda like kids, I am around his enough that I don't want any.

Old 04-29-2009, 05:18 PM
Pro Rider

It's something I find absolutely fascinating and would love to do but I'm deathly afraid of bees and wasps. I'm also allergic to yellow jacket stings and that makes me kinda leery about honey bee stings as well.

One of those things I really, really wish I could do but can't.

I do keep tabs on the wild honeybees on my farm though. I'm down to two trees. At one time there were 6 honey bee trees on my place but I've lost all but two. One of those trees had a hive in it for as long as I can remember and it suddenly disappeared. CCD I suppose.

Old 04-29-2009, 09:26 PM
Pro Rider