General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Riding ATV Parks

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2015, 11:29 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Riding ATV Parks

Hello, everyone! While I have been riding ATV's for well over 20 years now, I have never visited an ATV park. We have an old 97 Honda Foreman 400 and a brand new (left-over stock) 2014 Honda Rubicon and the wife and I have started discussing how the riding areas near our home have started drying up and we would like to check out some of the ATV parks that are out there. Since the late 70's, our part of Kentucky has had access to either strip mining sites and/or gas well access and logging roads that really opened up the mountains. Sadly, in the last five years a lot of those areas have closed as the coal company bonds have expired and the land has remitted back to the original owners who then fence and gate the properties. Plus, the gas company roads and logging roads grow back up very quickly if left alone. We have seen a mass exodus out of here since the jobs left and there are just fewer people riding and keeping the trails open.

All that said, we are starting to become interested in riding other places. According to my internet research, the closest place for us will be Black Mountain ATV park in Harlan. I even have family over there and we've been to the trail head at Evarts in a car. Then there's Royal Blue in TN, Windrock, Wilderness trail in Bell County KY, etc. Any recommendations on those?