TRX 300

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2008, 05:04 AM
JFW
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TRX 300

Naive newbie here...
I've got several questions that I KNOW will cross the stupid line...but here goes.

Bought a 1997 TRX300 last fall...seems like a good machine. Mostly used thru the winter for plowing. The guy I bought it from was the 2nd owner, he didnt have the manuals, and I havent ordered them yet. Is there any easy way to get the front fenders off? I accidentally broke a screw head off, trying to tighten the plow lift arm, and the only way to drill it out is to remove the plastic first. I thought I had all of the screws and such out, to remove the fenders, but it wouldnt budge.

Second, upon checking the air filter, I noticed a red oily substance near the bottom side of the filter. Wasnt sure if its some kind of additive, or if the whole thing is about to take a dump on me. Its about the same color as transmission fluid, but it seems a little thicker in consistency. Should I be worried?

3rd...oil/filters. I've checked the oil, its good, but it hasnt been changed since I brought it home. Since I'm not sure when it was done last, I figure it probably oughta be done. Anyone know what it takes? Furthermore, where is the filter located?

4th. Since there are no guages, is there any way, such as with some sort of diagnostic tool, to tell what kind of hours or miles this thing has?

Lastly, my title says its a 300trx, but I've noticed other machines with the same model numbers, look like sport quads. I know its full time 4wd, but my neighbor has almost the exact same machine, and his isnt. What gives?