Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Type of Oil in your 2013 RUBICON

Old 04-21-2015, 10:15 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Type of Oil in your 2013 RUBICON

Just wondering what type of oil your running in your 2013 honda rubicon 500

I use the honda oil but wondering what else is out there, maybe a little cheaper but do the same job or better

thanks

Old 04-22-2015, 12:58 AM
Pro Rider

I have been using Honda HP-4s synthetic oil in my rubicon for a few years now without a issue. I change it once a year. it's not cheap though at 9 dollars a qt, especially considering the rubicon takes 5 quarts between the engine/hydraulic trans.

Before that, I used the Honda GN-4 which I assume your using now. Never had a problem with it but I just wanted the benefits of a full synthetic oil. I was able to get it for about 4 dollars a quart. Not sure that you could find much better for a lower price. What ever you choose, just make sure it's wet clutch safe (which most 4-t motorcycle oils are) and you will be fine.

Old 04-22-2015, 07:04 AM
TLC
Extreme Pro Rider
God forbid he lets the polishing secret out!

You guys know Honda does not make oil they just put it in a bottle with a Honda logo printed on it. Just make sure the oil is motorcycle grade meaning its for wet clutches since all motorcycles have wet clutches.
Amsoil, Rotella T ,Redline and Moble1 are two example if you want Full synthetic.

Same goes with spark plugs, Honda does not make a spark plug. My friend drove across town for a plug for his 500 Foreman at his dealer. They gave him a red box with the Honda logo printed on it and out sips a NGK BR#ES that he could of bought at any place for cheaper, we both had a laugh about that.

Old 04-22-2015, 12:49 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts