Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

1989 Kawasaki Mojave 250 carb problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2009, 06:30 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1989 Kawasaki Mojave 250 carb problem

Hi, I inherited a 1989 Kawasaki Mojave 250, and I am having carb problems. I have tried numerous carbs on this ATV
(4 to be exact) and all of them leak out the bowl drain plug. I have used new float needle, and adjusted the float properly, and cleaned carb. I was an small engine mechanic for 20 years, just not ATV's so I am not a rookie. Anyone have any ideas what I am doing wrong. The fuel streams out of the drain plug. Although all of the carbs. are used, what are the chances of me getting 4 with bad float needle seats, which are not replaceable

Old 11-25-2009, 09:32 PM
Trailblazer

My 89 Mojave was doing that too so I put a rebuild kit in it and it took care of the problem if that's any help.

Old 11-26-2009, 06:58 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks honkaw, I tried that also, and it still does it. This Mojave has just really has me confused. I might have to go with a new carb. But they cost a fortune. And I already have about 200 dollars stuck in carbs. maybe I should just part the machine out. At least I should be able to make a couple of bucks. After trying four different carbs, I have about had it. You would think at least one would not leak.
Thanks, Wayne

Last edited by theepuppy; 11-26-2009 at 07:00 AM. Reason: misspelling
Old 11-26-2009, 07:19 AM
Trailblazer

You may want to take the petcock off and clean the tank REAL well. The Mojave is known to be a real PITA to get dirt out of the tank... I think this may be your problem. The petcock sits in sort of a pocket and dirt gets trapped. I had a similar problem and put an in line filter on it. Good luck. I think a piece of dirt is getting in the seat.. hence, causing it not to seat all the way..

Old 11-27-2009, 06:51 AM
Weekend Warrior
Default Mojave Carb.