Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

03 KLF250 Bayou starving for fuel

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2016, 11:19 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 KLF250 Bayou starving for fuel

I am an experienced licensed mechanic. This thing is kicking my butt.

When you first start it up, it will run well for about 30 seconds. It then acts like it is running out of fuel. Blowing in the gas tank vent tube will keep it running or get it to start again when it dies.
I have,
1. Disassembled the gas cap, cleaned, reassembled. Ensured air flows into cap from vent tube.
2. Emptied and cleaned gas tank.
3. Removed petcock and cleaned primary and reserve filters. Verified flow through both.
4. Replaced fuel line to carb.
5. Removed filter in carb fuel inlet and cleaned.
6. With float bowl removed you can blow through fuel line and get little resistance through needle and seat. With float bowl installed there is much resistance.
7. Replace needle, seat, and float.
8. Cleaned carb. Am able to spray carb cleaner through all orifices and see it come out other end.
9. Removed obstructions from float bowl vent lines. Also tried with lines removed.
10. I can blow into vent for float bowl in carb body and air passes freely. I do not understand why flow into the fuel inlet is restricted. Loosen the float bowl and flow is free.

I have had this carb off at least 20 times. It is improved since I started but still not good enough to ride normally. Any help would be appreciated....

Old 02-13-2016, 11:58 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

"When you first start it up, it will run well for about 30 seconds. It then acts like it is running out of fuel. Blowing in the gas tank vent tube will keep it running or get it to start again when it dies."