Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

TaoTao (VBike) ATA-125-F Performance/Upgrades/Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2008, 03:25 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TaoTao (VBike) ATA-125-F Performance/Upgrades/Questions

Hello all, new user (and owner) here.

I recently purchased a TaoTao ATA-125-F (from HERE ).
Before you start, I don't want to hear what kind of "junk" these are, should have bought a Honda/Yamaha, etc.
I am fully aware you pay for what you get.
I purchased this for myself but mainly my teenage boys. If all goes well, will upgrade later of course.

But for the time being, I have a few questions. Please remember I am an ATV newbie when answering.

1. Has anyone ever had the problem of getting "bent" wheels before? While riding straight out of the box, the front wheels wobble.

2. Anyone know the model for an upgradeable spark plug for this machine? I understand NGK is good, but does anyone know the model I would need?

3. Chain. I hear the chains that come on these are cheap, and would like to upgrade it. Any suggestions? Specific size(s)/names, etc. would greatly help.

4. Would you recommend upgrading the sprocket(s)? What about teeth?

5. I keep seeing CDI upgrades. Can someone explain this to me, and what to get for my machine?

6. Shocks. Any recommendation on replacing these, or is stock OK?

7. Any other performance modifications you can think of?

Thanks in advance for your help!

--Chris

Old 10-23-2008, 09:37 PM
Pro Rider
Default TaoTao (VBike) ATA-125-F Performance/Upgrades/Questions

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: Triple_X

Before you start, I don't want to hear what kind of "junk" these are, should have bought a Honda/Yamaha, etc.

I purchased this for myself but mainly my teenage boys. If all goes well, will upgrade later of course.

But for the time being, I have a few questions. Please remember I am an ATV newbie when answering.