Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

Polaris predator 90 leaking carb

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2020, 03:17 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Polaris predator 90 leaking carb

Hi guys, My name is Rick and I'm new to atv connection. I've spent hours trying to figure out what's wrong with my kids predator. It's a 90cc 2 stroke and it started leaking gas out of the overflow. I adjusted the float and did it little by little with trial and error. Kept leaking until I got to the point that it stopped leaking but wasn't getting any fuel. So I threw in the towel on that carb and just bought a new one. It was oem and as soon as I got it on the same thing happened. It only leaks when its idling or off. It starts and runs fine but as soon as you stop or shut it off it pours out. I have no idea what could cause this. I wouldn't think it could have anything to do with the motor because it leaks when it's off. I've googled it and can't find anything about it. Has anyone dealt with this or have an idea what is happening?

Old 05-17-2020, 03:47 AM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 300 Likes on 294 Posts

Usually dirt in the tank. It comes down and jams the float needle open. Sometimes turning the tank tap off, running the engine until it stops from lack of fuel, then turning the tap on, will flush the dirt off the now wide open needle. If it has done it again with a new carb, looks like a thorough tank clean or an in-line filter, is called for.

Old 05-17-2020, 02:07 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'll try it but even after I clean the carb it leaks right away

Old 05-17-2020, 06:05 PM
Pro Rider
Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

Cleaning the carb wont fix a bad needle/seat, could still be a piece of dirt wedged in somewhere. As mentioned try an inline fuel filter

Old 05-18-2020, 07:29 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
LT80 Expert
Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Using non ethanol fuel will help. The needle gets sticky from the ethanol.