Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

eton txl 50cc need help please

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2014, 04:25 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default eton txl 50cc need help please

first and formost I have never worked on a 2 stroke before everything i know I learned through research on the web so I will try to be a through as I can

I Bought a eton txl 50cc (5EA) vin it had been sitting for about 4 years acording to the previous owner. the quad did not have the stock airbox on it and compression was aroung the 75psi range. I replaced the jug/piston/rings/gaskets/sparkplug/coil and CDI. I also installed a UNI fliter as I could not find a stock airbox after I rebuilt the carb (when I say rebuiilt the carb i mean used a rebuild jet and cleaned the crab out if it lol). I removed the oil injection as the oil pump did look to be trust worthy. I plugged the oil injection port on the carb. I also cleaned the gas tank out, replaced all the fuel lines and changed the fluids as well as changed the cvt belt.

to break in the new gear I used a oil heavy gas mix ( 5oz oil:1gallon gas)
got the motor to idel ok and broke it in at just slightly over idel for about 30 min. During the break in i noticed oil sputtering from the exhaust and it woudl occationaly cut out but would fire right back up again, figured this was just due to the pre mix being oil heavy.

The issue is although the motor idles if you give it any throttle the quad wont move and the engine sounds as if its flooding/bogging out. I pulled the plug and it is not wet or black so I really dont know if its running rich or lean.
I checked the reeds and intake flange and they look good. I put the rear tires on a jack and the motor will speed up but it still sounds like its flooding/bogging out. The jet is a #85 and the pilot is a 20 the needle is on the middle clip. air mix is about 1 turn out.