Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

Polaris 200 not charging

Old 06-13-2012, 02:07 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Polaris 200 not charging

Hi, newbie here.....I have a 2005 Polaris Phoenix that is not charging the battery. I get about 12.5 volts at the battery (after charging it) whether it is running or not. I then tried checking resistance at the plug coming from the stator. I checked each of the three yellow wires to the black ground wire with the machine off and it had resistance at one yellow wire, but the other 2 were showing open. I am now assuming that the stator is bad. How do I go about removing and replacing? At this point I have just disconnected the headlight and tail light bulbs and think I will kick start it to keep the battery high enough that it will run OK. Thanks....

Old 06-13-2012, 03:00 PM
Range Rover
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I had to replace the box (cdi I think) can't remember the name now under the front panel behind the headlight. It about 3X3 or so and it has fins on it. If you pull the two mounting bolts and unplug it you can smell the back of it (it's a hard plastic) if it smells sweet or burned that your problem. I had to replace two of them. Oh yea it's the regulator. Hope this helps.

Old 06-13-2012, 03:57 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Look here under "electrical parts" for your phoenix. http://parts.polarisind.com/Browse/Browse.asp
Usually the regulator rectifier like twister 500 said is the most common problem I had with them. Located right behind the cdi module. Had to replace a couple myself. OPT

Old 06-13-2012, 04:04 PM