Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

1998 Polaris Trail Boss (Need Help)

Old 10-26-2003, 07:20 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 Polaris Trail Boss (Need Help)

I am having a number of problems and was hoping someone may not how to best approach this. My 4wheeler has always been a little hard to start I just passed it off as a flaw of a 2-cycle. I took it down to the deer woods recently and got stuck out there for several hours tell the darn thing finally decided to start. What it has been doing is as follows:

1. From a cold start...it will usually start and idle just fine. I wait for a few minutes to let it warm up.

2. It will run like a scalded-*** ape

3. When you let off the trottle it won't come back down to the normal idle.

4. It dies, then won't start up very easily and often times not for several hours.

I am not a mechanic so I had my uncle who is take a look at it and it was our initial impression that the carbrator needed to be rebuilt and finely tooned. We did that and had it running great. It still needs to be chocked to start even when it's warm. We took it out and drove it around came back to the shop and it immediately started doing the same thing. I died, couldn't start it back. Finally did after a few minutes. I got it back to the house, started up (after first hit) and let it idle for about 15 minutes then reved it up to see if it would come back down to a normal idle like you'd expect it to do only it continues to come down to a unstable idle after being driven or "reved" and subsequently if you let it...it will die.