Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

02 500HO sportsman won't start with key

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2008, 10:47 AM
mdt
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 500HO sportsman won't start with key

I'm starting to pull my hair out trying to figure out why my atv will start with the recoil but not the key. When I turn the key the starter turns and sounds as though it should start but there is no spark. I've checked the resistance on the stator, charge coils, everything I can think of and they all check OK! I do have the wiring diagram but I'm not very good at reading it, but I have cheched as many of the electrical connections as I can find. The battery is fully charged and doesn't apperar to be the problem. I appreciate any ideas.

Old 08-25-2008, 12:33 PM
Pro Rider

What quad do you have?
Check on some past post's
I had a similar problem on my 500 sportsman. It turned out to be a factory recall for a routing problem of the spark plug cable. It was routed under the tank and was getting pinched and grounded to the frame.
Was supposed to be covered under a recall. local dealer never mentioned it. I got help on this forum. I guess it was a pretty common problem.
Deerkiller

Old 08-25-2008, 02:13 PM
mdt
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for the reply!!

I have a 2002 500HO sportsman. I already replaced the plug wire. The bike will start with the recoil starter but with key there is no spark. The starter turns and the motor turns over ok but no spark.

Old 08-25-2008, 02:26 PM
Pro Rider

hummm,
you got me on this one.
I had an ecm problem but I had nothing at all when it went.
I'm sure you will get some better help here. Someone will chime in.
Good luck

Old 08-25-2008, 06:22 PM
Pro Rider