Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

2003 Polaris Magnum 330 4x4 Starter/Electrical Issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2013, 05:25 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Polaris Magnum 330 4x4 Starter/Electrical Issues

Ok, Im stumped, Ive searched all over, Ive found recent threads on it at other forums but no real definite answer.

As a part time job I buy broken atvs and rebuild them/part them out, Ive turned enough wrenches lately to where I got this atv for free, so I really wanna get her going and mud her and let my little nephew have it and learn to cruise around. Ive been working on MX bikes and ATVS for about 4-5 years now so I'm pretty savy when it comes to building and such, but this I have no idea as Im not best with electricals, mostly with internal motors and such is what I'm good at.

Now heres the issue, hopefully some polaris guru knows whats going on.

So I got the ATV, Guy said no spark, needs new key ignition/starter solenoid. I said sure, I can tackle that thats not that bad. .....

So I look at this key, turns out this polaris to start it is like a car, put the key in, turn, and spring load pushes it back to on position and thats how it starts, (am I correct? Ive mostly been kawasaki/yamaha guy)

So I turn the key, to on, doesnt spring back, but leave it on, no lights, nothing.

So I order a new ignition, came with 2 keys, was like 30$ or so, not bad.

Plugged it up turned it on, the lights now work. Still, NO STARTER. No indiciator lights to show me what gear I'm in, nothing, Just the front head lights. If I try to turn key to start, absoultely nothing, no ticking like a dead battery, nothing. so got a new starter solenoid, was like 15$. Installed it, Nothing, Same dealio, Only have headlights.