Old 10-16-2014, 06:30 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 polaris sportsman 700 Timing/DrivenClutch

Morning,
I am new to the sight old to the sport.
I have two question: Can anyone help?
a little bit about the machine: 02 sportsman 700 4x4
Just bought this machine not running having trouble getting it to start.150 psi on both cyl...and good spark it is not cranking over right it is like the motor is hydro locking as it cranks (binding) with plugs in no plugs it spins normal.

1, anyone know how to time or check the timing on a 700 twin motor?

2, Machine not engaging... Driven clutch spins freely removed the clutch and shaft also is spinning freely no mater what position the shift lever is in.

any ideas would be great
thanks Jeff

Old 10-16-2014, 08:15 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Hopefully addressed the most common electrical problem on the 700 in your other post. If gear positions wont engage,then possible internal gear case problems or could be a shift quadrant problem behind cover plate #3. (Item 4-8 61-64.) Plus may have a problem on the lock out part #57. Dirt Cheap Yamaha & Polaris OEM Parts & Accessories – Cycle Parts Warehouse

Old 10-19-2014, 04:49 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default Polaris sportsman 700 timing

Sorry for the delay...went up north for a long weekend.
Thanks for the reply hope that's not what's up with it$$$. last owner said it had not run in a while but when I pulled the carb it looked pretty clean for two years. It sounds like it wants to start but it I only get a couple good cranks and it binds up ??? then I turn the key off and on again and try again. can a bad starter or bendix cause that? I think I may have been Dupped with this machine looks like a brand new drive clutch and belt but when I took it off that is when I noticed the driven shaft spins free I am not very familiar with this type of drive I am hoping the trany is not junk.
Jeff

Old 10-19-2014, 08:29 PM