Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Looking for advice on engine rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2015, 06:57 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for advice on engine rebuild

I have a 03 Sportsman 700 that has a little play up and down and side to side in the piston rods. 3 of 4 lifters are concave at the bottom. The cylinder walls and pistons look fine to me. All nice and smooth but I am by far an expert. My best guess is I need a new crankshaft , camshaft and lifters. Question ( 1 ) I have no experience doing this type of work. But I do have the service manual. Am I stupid for even attempting to do this? (2) What else would I need? Is there a gasket kit involved? Should the balance shaft be replaced also? (3) Is it worth trying to track down a used crankshaft ? They are so darn expensive new. (4) If I gave up this idea and take the motor to a qualified mechanic what do you think I would be looking at in a rebuild bill? Money is kind of tight here.Your advice is really appreciated.

Old 06-23-2015, 08:48 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Get a manual first off to see what all is involved!!! Hard to find a place to rebuild a crank.. usually have to get a new one or re manufactured one. Cam shaft if OK can be reused,same for lifters. Plenty of things to check on this engine,plus you might check into complete engines with your core for exchange..

Old 06-23-2015, 12:45 PM
Trailblazer