Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Fan thermostat help

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2016, 08:14 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fan thermostat help

Howdy fellas. I have a 96 explorer 300 aircooled two stroke. The thermostat that brings on the fan broke. I put an override switch on fan to bring on fan manually, how ever I am having a hard time finding the switch. I am a HVAC tech I can install a adjustable thermostatic switch but not sure what temp to set it at. The current switch is mounted to frame under the front seat above the carb. If I knew what temp I could install adjustable stat. I just did a full top end rebuild and don't want to mess it up. Thanks for your time me and old Smokey appreciate it.

Old 02-11-2016, 09:22 PM
Pro Rider

According to my shop manual, the fan comes on at 235 degrees and off at 210 degrees for the 300 two stroke. My sensor is in good shape on my 300 but I am not sure if it will turn the fan on. My fan works when I jump it but I havent ran mine enough to see if it gets hot enough to kick the fan on yet.

Hope this helps,
Mike

Old 02-11-2016, 09:35 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

My two cents would be to keep the fan on a toggle as the location for the sensor rarely if ever allowed the fans to kick on anyway. Located on the rear engine bracket isn't the best spot plus most broke from vibration over time. Just kick the fan on if when under loads or going slow for extended periods of time. Really don't know why Polaris even had one as most air cooled engines don't have or need fans. Same for the oil cooled 325/330 engines with the fan sensor on the oil cooler. Rarely do they ever kick on unless super hot.

Old 02-11-2016, 10:43 PM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by old polaris tech