Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Please advise OPT need alternative parts

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2016, 09:25 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please advise OPT need alternative parts

Polaris gurus assistance please!

Hello Atv comunity. I am a newbie, not just to this sight, but to the Atv world. I just purchased my first quad last weekend. 05 magnum 330 awd. Great looking quad hasn't been beat on too much. Its lived a farm life. I bought this non running for I think a good price knowing I had to monkey with it and add a few $ to it. I always try to fix my cars with the internets help I usually figure things out. So I wasn't to scared of this. I researched the discribe problems prior to purchase. My conclusion was it needs the thermister, (been removed) and probably an ecm if that doesn't do the trick. Turn the key on and it just flashes hot. It starts well and Idless well, but cuts out and dies when throttling up. I see the boot from the carb to air tank is not on very well. So from what I read about these I am assuming/crossing my fingers that this may be the issue. I am curios though, I was told this had a lower end rebuild (not that I can truly trust that, no paperwork to prove) it does have a clanking sound as if metal were being slapped or somthing is this normal or a bad sighn? I am thinking it may be the pull rope.