Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

ATV tipped over what things to inspect??

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2016, 03:30 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ATV tipped over what things to inspect??

Had a loading ramp collapse when loading into the back of my pick-up. Fortunately, one tire hung up on the edge of the bed and the atv didn't fall on top of me. The wheeler was almost upside down and gas started to pour out...I'm assuming out of the carb. The oil level seems to be fine but I wanted to know what I should be checking before I just get back on and ride....As a side note, mighty scary laying in a ditch on my back with a 2003 600twin hovering over the top of me barely hanging on the edge of the truck and my 14 year old daughter screaming because she thinks I'm going to die. I have been using the same 1500#ramps for 10 years and now all of a sudden the 3 main struts on 1 ramp completely tore through and dropped to the ground. I guess I'll be buying a heavy duty ramp set....

Old 10-26-2016, 03:50 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

How did it fall and where did it take the brunt of the fall? Gas pouring out is typical as they are vented. I'd be more concerned with bent handle bars/steering stem or tweaked a-arms. Get it on a flat surface and see if everything looks straight. Re-check toe-in and see if the steering linkage is still tight (no to little movement before wheels move). I don't know the make of your machine, so can't really comment further...

Old 10-26-2016, 04:54 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts