Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Sell Me On Polaris

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2016, 01:19 PM
Back Country Explorer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Sell Me On Polaris

Hello All. I am new to the ATV hobby. I've talked myself into exploring an ATV for winter snow plowing and summer trail riding in my new home state of Colorado. I enjoy the outdoors and I enjoy motorsports.

I've been researching ATV quads that are 2 up. I moved to Colorado from the Twin Cities area of Minnesota. After living there for 26 years, I know the Polaris brand. In fact they were our largest customer at the factory where I worked before retiring. So the Polaris brand is a natural first choice for me.

But.... I have read all kinds of "problem posts" on various internet sights about the Polaris machines. I understand it is human nature to rant about bad experiences, maybe even exaggerate a bit. But the volume of posts is concerning. And the Polaris recalls are concerning.

Here on ATV Connection / Brand Discussions, we have about 10,000 threads on Arctic Cat, about 24,000 threads on Can Am, and 65,000 threads on Polaris. A majority of the threads are asking for help with a technical problem.

I need you experienced owners to convince me that the late model Sportsman 2 up quad 850 twin is reliable and robust.

Thanks,

David

Old 11-30-2016, 02:16 PM
Moto Psycho
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

There are going to be more problems with Polaris ATVs because they make more ATVs and UTVs than anyone else. The vast majority of ATVs I see on the trail are Polaris and Yamaha and I don't see a lot of problems with any brand.

Old 11-30-2016, 04:24 PM
Back Country Explorer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts