Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

tire psi ?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2017, 03:05 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tire psi ?

I inflated my ksf250 tires to the manuals recommended psi.....right around 4-4.5. They're the factory original tires, the rounded type, with plenty meat left. Took it out for the 1st time in the trails. The ride was plush,...but it under steers really bad. Also on a hard corner it seems like the rear tires want to fold over,..especially if I'm on the road.

I'm new to atv so maybe this is normal? I understand if I increase psi I'll lose some ride quality in the bumps.

Do the squared tires have a stiffer side wall?
Maybe because my tires are old the sidewall has weakened?

Your thoughts are appreciated.

Old 03-02-2017, 03:29 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Hold the bars straight,get off and look at the front tires. Some manufacturers want them toed in a little, some like Polaris toed out a tad(1/8-1/4") See if you can check for your model and you can use the old string mode for checking or use an aluminum stud like we did in the shop. One person held the bars straight and tight,another tightened or loosen the tied rod shaft to align the front tire to the rear and allow for toe in or out.Plus the pic is one guys method of doing this.Plus on the tires look at the side wall as it usually shows recommended pressure or max pressure. On most of our full size machines we had 5 psi .

Attached Thumbnails tire psi ?-imag0050.jpg  
Old 03-02-2017, 04:55 PM
Weekend Warrior

Only shows max psi. These are factory tires so I'm going by the manual. Will play with psi. I'm 230lbs so that could be considered a "heavy load".

Will check for toe in. Thanks.

Old 03-02-2017, 05:43 PM
Pro Rider