Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

87 LT230 Quadrunner

Old 02-26-2009, 06:40 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 87 LT230 Quadrunner

Hello everyone. I purchased a 1987 LT230E Quadrunner and I have some questions. I have to hold the shift lever down when the bikes in neutral to start it. The neutral lite will not come on unless I hold the shifter down either. Any ideas? I'm pretty new to 4wheelin and bought the 230 as a starter bike. It is in good shape but has a couple issues. I ordered the repair manual and it should be here soon. The quad wont start right away either. It takes a bit before the electric start gets her goin then it either idles rough or not at all. I get white smoke here and there also. That sums up my problems at the moment,any tips appreciated! Any back rims from another quad work on mine? Thank You!

Old 03-01-2009, 02:43 PM
Trailblazer

i have the quad sport and the only thing that i can say is the white smoke is the rings that are burned or melted and that happens often...look at the carb and see if it has a lever on it if it does then ur idling pin might be to tight and could cause the over reving. thats all i can help with

Old 03-01-2009, 07:54 PM
Pro Rider

hey, welcome to the forum!

as far as the neutral interlock switch goes, chances are there's some sort of proximity adjustment for it. once you get your service manual that should be a big help and should walk you through things reguarding that (Did you get the clymer manual, or the official suzuki factory service manual?). If there is no adjustment, the switch shouldn't be all that expensive to replace (maybe $15).

For the hard starting, re-building the carb can help, and kits are readily available on ebay for about $10. If that doesn't do it, check your jetting by doing plug chops and correct as needed. You might also want to check your valve clearance, too. Those procedures should be clearly outlined in you service manual.