Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

LTZ clone head scratcher

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2010, 01:19 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LTZ clone head scratcher

Okay here is a tester for you,
I have been working on my own quads for 10 years and I can't figure this one. I bought a 2004 DVX (same as a Suzuki LTZ 400) which had 10 hours on it. Looked new, started right up, ran for a few hours then started stuttering and stalling. Looked inside the carb and there was what looked like rust particles and residue. Apparently it was the original gas from new!

So, I have cleaned and rebuilt the carb. petcock and gas tank. It still runs and dies. I installed a fuel filter between the petcock and the carb and can see the fuel stop flowing. I switch it to prime, the bowl fills again, it runs until the fuel stops flowing then same thing. It is driving me crazy, does anyone have an idea why the fuel stops flowing to the carb?

Suggestions appreciated.

Old 09-27-2010, 02:38 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Something is clogging that petcock OR perhaps your tank vent is clogged

Old 09-27-2010, 03:45 PM
Pro Rider

check your float height.

Old 09-27-2010, 06:22 PM
Pro Rider
Default Float Height

How do you set the carb float height? Where should it be ideally? I just rebuilt the carb and used the new float plunger that came with the rebuild kit.

Old 09-27-2010, 06:24 PM
Pro Rider
Default Tank is vented

I had tank venting problems with another quad so that was one of the first things I checked. Thanx anyway!

Old 09-27-2010, 06:26 PM
Pro Rider

One other thing... it will run fine but then if it hits bumps or goes on a steep downhill it acts up again until it gets on flat ground. But it still happens all the time argh....

Old 09-27-2010, 11:13 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Cammer