Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

yet, another LT80 problem...

Old 04-04-2011, 09:32 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default yet, another LT80 problem...

Hey guys, i am new to the forums... this a great place! Lots of information.
ok, so I am a service manager/mechanic at an automotive repair shop in St Louis. The owner of the shop has a bunch of fun toys, one of wich is a
1990 Zuki LT80 that he picked up a few weeks ago for one one his kids.
ive worked on all of his toys with good luck, but this one is giving us all kinds of problems!
when he first brought it to the shop, it was having issues to where it would take a loooong time to start, and when it finally did, I had to keep on the throttle
to keep it running. naturally, the first thing i did was pull the carb and cleaned every inch with carb cleaner and compressed air. it helped a bit, but still wasnt running right. It almost seemed as if it wasnt getting enough gas, so I wanted to check the petcock fuel valve to see if it was opening with vacuum from the carb. i put my hand vacuum pump on the hose and applied vacuum, and it turns out that the valve is bad...It was pulling fuel through my hand pump! so i capped off the line, and the outlet on the carb, and turned the valve to "reserve" for further testing.(is it ok to run the quad with the valve on reserve?)
I checked the spark plug, was a little fouled so i installed a new plug. Spark is good and strong. with the choke on, i still have to tickle the throttle to get it to start. once it starts, it runs at a pretty high idle, i'll let it run for a good few minutes. i then drop the choke, and the idle drops down... it will run for a few minutes, but soon after, it will die unless I keep on the throttle.
I ckecked the compression, its pumping around 80 PSI, wich from what i have read in the forums is a little low. by the way, does anyone know what the stock compression should be?