Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Suzuki LT250s 89

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2013, 02:49 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suzuki LT250s 89

Just trying to gather some useful information here. I'm new to the whole quad thing so bare with me.

I found an 89 250s and couldn't let it sit and rot any longer. It's in decent shape *over statement* and turns over. Now for what is wrong with it. The common Magneto cover issue.. The mag cover is broken up pretty good. As well as a 1/2" x 1/2" chunk from the case where the mag cover bolts.

The swing arm bearings are all shot, which my research tells me, that is why the chain is thrown and the mag cover is busted.

Is there anything else I should kno about this beast. Annd, I'm trying to dispatch an aluminum welder, because I am cheap and DO NOT want to spend $149.99 on a mag cover. Or $150 on a new case halve seeing how I only spent $45 on the quad itself. Thanks for any Info!

Old 10-17-2013, 08:19 PM
Pro Rider
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

$45 on the quad. Nice. Yeah those swing arm bearings need attention often it seems. I plan on having to lube mine often once I get riding it. I bought a new side cover since I had a small chunk taken out of it where it screws in. If you're doing the bearings in the back you might as well do the ones up front as mine were just as bad on the a-arms as they were in the swing arm.

Are you going to go through it or just fix it and run it? Parts were not that hard to come by, but lots of ordering from Suzuki I did for mine. I got the stainless bolt kit from motorsportfasteners on eBay and it worked out pretty good. Not perfect, but still a lot cheaper than getting them from the dealer or trying to find them in the bolt bin at my local hardware store.

Here is the progress on mine.
1990 Suzuki LT250S Photo Gallery by dirtweed at pbase.com

(Everyone that has already seen it can ignore the link as I am sure you're all sick of it by now)