Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

lt f160 running issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2014, 05:50 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lt f160 running issues

Picked up a lt f160 a few weeks ago. I am a noob to small engines at the moment. I used to mess with them years ago but have forgot allot. Anyways , it will start up with the choke on (lever in the down pos) if I at all no matter how long I let it sit when I try to take the choke off (move lever up) it dies....Ive tried messing with the idle screw but once that lever moves up ... its dead.... while the choke is on it seems to ride ok but i assume this is NO good for the engine...

My other issue on top of that which isn't a huge issue but maybe has to play with it is the head light is dim... I have noticed that onece the engine is dying and ready to quit the light gets bright...

THanks
Michael

Old 12-02-2014, 04:37 AM
Trailblazer

Originally Posted by CaliberGSD
Picked up a lt f160 a few weeks ago. I am a noob to small engines at the moment. I used to mess with them years ago but have forgot allot. Anyways , it will start up with the choke on (lever in the down pos) if I at all no matter how long I let it sit when I try to take the choke off (move lever up) it dies....Ive tried messing with the idle screw but once that lever moves up ... its dead.... while the choke is on it seems to ride ok but i assume this is NO good for the engine...

My other issue on top of that which isn't a huge issue but maybe has to play with it is the head light is dim... I have noticed that onece the engine is dying and ready to quit the light gets bright...

THanks
Michael