Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Starter clicking, brake fluid, & difficult to pull start

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2016, 09:13 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starter clicking, brake fluid, & difficult to pull start

Hey, so thanks to everyone who helped with my previous issue! My 2002 Quadrunner 500LTF has been running great for a while. Well recently I took out the air filter, because the previous owner notified me he'd never changed or cleaned it. This is from 2002 guys, it fell apart in my hands. Anyway, I purchased a new one, and installed it. I've never done this before so I got filter oil everywhere on the interior and the side of the quad, what a mess.

While doing this, I noticed the brakes weren't working properly, so I bled the brakes and put in some new DOT3/4 fluid. I then added a little tension to the rear brake, at which point the rusted spring cracked off, so I replaced it with a new spring, and put the tension back where it was before.

Tonight when I tried to start it, the starter just clicked. I decided to hand start it and noticed the pull cord was intensely difficult to pull. But on the 4th or 5th pull, it turned over and ran amazingly well, it almost sounded like it was new. However, when it turned over, a bunch of brake fluid forced its way out of the holding receptacle, which I had just recently repaired the seal on. Of note, the pull start has been fairly difficult in the past, but this was obnoxiously difficult. Sometimes the pull start is easy and sometimes it's not. Something else has gone wrong and I'm not quite sure what to do now. Any ideas?

Old 04-21-2016, 05:41 PM
Weekend Warrior

As I was pulling it out of the shed today, it made weird clicking noises and was progressively harder to move. This despite being in neutral!