Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Big Bear won't idle - help?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2004, 10:47 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Big Bear won't idle - help?

Hello,

Was wondering if anyone could offer some insight.

I own a 2002 Big bear 400. It only has about 137 miles on it, I purchased new in April 02. I use it primarily for hunting and chores on my property.

Anyway, after not using for several months over this past spring, when I went to use it, it would not idle unless you leave the choke pulled out about 1/2 way.

I'm mechanically inclined, I worked as a car mechanic for years, and have always done all my own vehicle maintenance, cars boats, trucks, etc.

Here's what I've done so far:

Drained and refilled gas tank with fresh gas. (twice)
Removed carburetor, disassembled cleaned and reassembled
New spark plug.
Checked and adjusted valves within specs.
Adjusted "mix" screw on bottom of carb. This was 2 5/8 turns out when I first took carb off, and that's where I started out, then turned in in 1/4 turn increments, then out, and cannot improve performance.

Basically nothing I've done has identified a problem, nor have I changed the performance of the quad. The bike will not idle unless the choke lever is approx 1/3 to 1/2 out, even then it backfires alot.

The carb is a Mikuni BSR 33 ? That's from memory, so maybe I'm wrong.

Anyone that can offer some help?

I would take it to the dealer, but I live in South east connecticut and don't know of a good shop. I'm just afraid of paying mucho $ only to have no improvement.

Thanks

Loughman

Old 09-27-2004, 04:59 PM
Elite Pro Rider

Cleaning the carb should have done it. Using the 'choke' is actually a starter jet, which lets the motor have some extra gas when opened.