Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

96 yfm80 badger starting problems.. Valves?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2011, 08:47 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 yfm80 badger starting problems.. Valves?

Hello,

This is my first time in these forums and boy am I glad to find them! I recently purchased a 96 badger that I plan on giving to my daughter for christmas.

now the problem:

When the guy brought it to my house he had to crank the starter for about 3-4 minutes before it would start. Once it had run it would fire right up every time. If i let it cool down it would be very hard to start once again. I have adjusted the valves @ .004 intake and .005 exhaust. this did not change how it starts. I have fuel, air, and spark. WHAT AM I MISSING?

Thank you for your help.

Old 11-19-2011, 10:46 AM
Pro Rider

Originally Posted by troyschwab
Hello,

This is my first time in these forums and boy am I glad to find them! I recently purchased a 96 badger that I plan on giving to my daughter for christmas.

now the problem:

When the guy brought it to my house he had to crank the starter for about 3-4 minutes before it would start. Once it had run it would fire right up every time. If i let it cool down it would be very hard to start once again. I have adjusted the valves @ .004 intake and .005 exhaust. this did not change how it starts. I have fuel, air, and spark. WHAT AM I MISSING?

Thank you for your help.
New Spark Plug

Old 11-19-2011, 12:24 PM
Weekend Warrior

I am going to get a new plug today. Any carb adjusting tips? Maybe a starting point for turns out on idle and mixture.

Thanks again:-)

Old 11-19-2011, 03:57 PM
Pro Rider

Originally Posted by troyschwab
I am going to get a new plug today. Any carb adjusting tips? Maybe a starting point for turns out on idle and mixture.

Thanks again:-)