Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

cam chain 2003 Big Bear YFM400FRW

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2012, 09:07 AM
Trailblazer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question cam chain 2003 Big Bear YFM400FRW

hello
i am a new member and this is my first post.i have a big bear 400 that was given to me in not running condition.i cleaned it up,rebuild the carburetor and it is running now.i never had an ATV before and i must say it's alot of fun.the cam chain is very loose and causing a noise.i just bid on a repair manual for it so i can fix it.my question is , how big of a job is it and do i need special tools for it?i'm just a at home mechanic and work on my truck,my wife's van and my moms car using HAYENS manuals.is this job going to be too big for me? any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Old 10-12-2012, 02:14 PM
Trailblazer

nobody ???

Old 10-14-2012, 09:57 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Replacing a cam chain is not too bad really. I have only done one so far. My Big Bears cam chain is running out of adjustment on the tensioner too. Make sure your tensioner is working correctly before you replace the chain.

The worst part of the cam chain job is that you will probably have to pull the magneto to get to the gear on the crank. You have to have a special puller to get the magneto off. I tried getting the magneto on my suzuki off with a normal puller and pulled on it enough that I was afraid I was going to break something so I really reccomend using the correct puller. I ended up taking the engine to the local dealer and having them pull it. Think they charged me $5 or $10 and the tool costs about $60 I think. Regardless, once the magneto is off and the cam gear is off, just pull the old chain out, line everything back up at top dead center, reset the tensioner, and stick it back together.

Eric

Old 10-16-2012, 08:08 AM
Trailblazer
Default thank you Eric