Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

New to quads, Yamaha Blaster

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2013, 10:13 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool New to quads, Yamaha Blaster

Hey guys, I am completely new to the world of quads and while my friends have been great help they can not answer every question I have. I know you guys are probbaly sick of questions like these and for that I apoligize, but any assitance or tips you can provide me would be greatly appreciated.

So here are some of my questions
-Downshifting Gears feels weird, almost like the entire quad jerks and decreases velocity for a second, I have never drove a quad before yesterday so I do not know if this is normal or not. Is it fine?

-I have not had to mix oil yet but I will today, Should I continue running the same kind of oil the previous owner did, One of my friends swears its needed to continue engine efficency while the other says it doesnt matter. And if it is not avaliable in my area while one change hurt?

-There is a lever by the choke that says things like "On, Off, Res, Fuel," Oddly the quad was running while it was in the "Off Position" Why?

-Matinence is also among my concerns, The quad starts first kick, how can I keep it this way?

-And lastly (Sorry I know there was alot) All of my friends agree that I am not running the machine hard enough, they said it is not healthy for a two-stroke to be taken easy after it gets completly warmed up and that I run risk of fouling plugs like no other. Im afraid of the throttle but im trying to keep this in as good condition as I can. Any tips?

Thank you for any help you may be able to provide as I am completly blind in this area.

Old 06-04-2013, 05:15 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

1) Blueblur, welcome to the forums. I am going to give you a ton of info. I hope you stick around to learn and in time help others.