Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

2002 Warrior 350 Questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2016, 07:44 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Warrior 350 Questions

Hey everyone, have a few questions regarding my new toy. I'm new to owning a quad but not to riding so I want to make sure I take care of the ATV so she lasts as long as possible. My riding with this new quad is more relaxed, trail riding with my partner. We are not interested in jumps or going insanely fast etc. so things are pretty basic in terms of maintenance. (Getting old sucks so the days of racing/jumping are in the past haha.)

1. How often should I be replacing the oil? I found information on what I should be using (10W40 or better, Motorcycle / ATV brand etc.) but I could not find information on what is the recommend frequency of replacing the oil. I do check it often and so far its been fine.

2. I am in the market for buying a few new parts as I bought the quad from my neighbor and it has some damaged parts. Thankfully the frame and plastics are in great condition but some minor things need some help:
- Tail light housing is destroyed and needs to be replaced. (Light works, main housing looks to be ok, but the red tinted plastic needs to be replaced.) (Save 20% on OEM Yamaha ATV Parts | MotoSport part #1)
- Crankcase cover is half-missing and potentially going to land up in the chain. (Save 20% on OEM Yamaha ATV Parts | MotoSport part #13)

A friend of mine recommended upgrading the tail light to a newer LED unit, but I'm not sure which aftermarket parts will fit the same connections and such for this quad.

The question here is going OEM recommended or buying aftermarket better? Along with that, what site(s) would you recommend purchasing from? I'm not a fan of sites like Ebay, I'd rather order from a company than a person.