1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

Is my starter bad??? PLEASE HELP!! 110 atv

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2012, 06:29 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is my starter bad??? PLEASE HELP!! 110 atv

Hi! I'm a mom trying to get my son's atv running. I am NOT a mechanic, do not have a volt meter & can't find anyone to work on this for me!! PLEASE HELP if you can!! Kill switch is off... has gas... battery is charged, connections to battery look good, I push the start button & it just clicks from the starter. I tried jumping it with a screwdriver & nothing happened- just clicking!! How do I know if it is good? I'm getting desperate & my son is devastated. ANY help will be very much appreciated!!

Old 10-24-2012, 11:35 PM
Electrical Expert
Likes High Voltage In The Tub!
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

So far I'm impressed with what you've done so far. You've been very methodical about this.

Do you have jumper cables? Try jumping the quad battery to your car battery, then try to start up the quad [please take *extra* care to get the jumper cable polarity right - plus to plus, and minus to minus]. Does the starter turn now?

What the last test does is check to see if your quad battery was folding under the starter motor's heavy load. If it cranks when jumped to the car then the quad battery is bad or discharged.

After that you are going to need a meter. We need to find out if your starter is getting adequate voltage right at the starter. If not why? We can trace back the path to the battery and find out where it is going wrong.

In addition, if we find your quad battery is not up to the task, then we will be using the meter to check the battery charging system.

Meters are cheap these days. A really good one is about $20.

Old 10-25-2012, 04:06 PM
Weekend Warrior

ok I bought a volt meter. I put it on the battery & it is reading 12.72. I put it on the starter & it's around the same... I'm going to try and jump it now.