ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Buying an ATV (https://atvconnection.com/forums/buying-atv/)
-   -   Dedicated ATV for Spraying (https://atvconnection.com/forums/buying-atv/197727-dedicated-atv-spraying.html)

dobehap 03-30-2005 12:09 PM

Dedicated ATV for Spraying

Hello, I'm glad I found this site!

I will try to give you as much info as possible, please bear with me if I miss something, for I'm totally new to atvs.

I am looking to get a dedicated ATV for my landscaping business.
It will be used for Spreading fertilizer, and spraying weeds. Fertilizer spreader will be mounted in the front... welding and fabricating the brakets is not a problem. Spray tank (25 gallon) will be mounted on the back.

What I'm looking for.

1. It has to be small (like kids size 50-90 cc range I guess).. Reason it has to be small is: It cant weight a lot, and it has to be super manuvarable, small turning radius if at all possible.

2. It has to have reverse

3. 2x4 is ok, because it will only ride on turf

4. Power, just enogh power to handle me and the materials (total maybe 300 lb) on the turf going between 5-10mph. I dont think I will ever need to go above 10mph.

I am a small guy, at about 130lb.

I have seen a lot of things that I dont know what I need,

1. Rod or chain drive..? Pros cons of each?

2. Manual or Automatic... I'm leaning closer to manual since I will need to stay in the lower gears a lot (at a constant speed)

3. How does the rear drive work in a tight turn... do both tires turn at the same speed...will cause divots in turf??? Or is there somekind of differential?

4. Taking mud tires off and installing some turf tires on that thing should not cause any problems?

5. It has to have electric start and a battery charging system on board.

I live in Charlotte NC area.
Given the criteria I have, what would you recommend, and approximate price tag that I should be looking at?