Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

New to the sport, Honda Forman, Honda Rancher, Polaris Sportsman 450, or Polaris Sportsman 500

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2008, 04:34 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the sport, Honda Forman, Honda Rancher, Polaris Sportsman 450, or Polaris Sportsman 500

Hello everyone,

As many of these posts go, people come here when they are new to the game, and want to learn more. Well, the same goes for me. I am new to the sport, and want to get a nice new ATV, and want your input. I am 26, 6'1, 170 pounds. I say I that cause all the other posts for introductory statements people include it.

So, I want an ATV for trail riding, going out into the middle of nowhere and explore, and go camping for several days on end. I am from Alaska, so the opportunities are endless.

I am debating between Honda Forman, Honda Rancher, Polaris Sportsman 450, or Polaris Sportsman 500. Currently, I am leaning towards the 2007 Polaris Sportsman 450. What's your take on this? However, I have a good friend who told me to get EFI. So, that's got me thinking to get the 500. Is it really worth it?

Of these four machines, what would be the best? and hold up the best for years to come if one takes good care of it?

Any other input on the 4 would be great!

Jeff

Old 02-03-2008, 06:45 PM
Pro Rider
Default New to the sport, Honda Forman, Honda Rancher, Polaris Sportsman 450, or Polaris Sportsman 500

i'd go with the 500efi sportsman. with the elevation and weather changes efi is the only way to go. i'd go with the irs quads with the type of riding you'll be doing

Old 02-03-2008, 11:12 PM
Trailblazer