Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

First time buyer

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2009, 01:01 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time buyer

i had general questions, i am soon to be a first time buyer of an atv and need to more or less advise from some of you guys who have been where i am. i wondering about buying used vs new, and if used like how many years old is ok to go with, and also miles. and for anyone who has opinions about wat brand/s might be better. some people said get a polaris sportsman 700 rather than a kawasaki brutforce, ya know stuff like that. the help with really be apprecitated........ and if this isnt the place to ask this kind of question let me know, this is my first time on this website, thanks

Old 04-16-2009, 02:40 PM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Can you be specific about your riding conditions??? Trail quad/work quad/both??? Do you insist on an automatic transmission??? What cc range do you think you need to be in? Etc.....

I part company with most everybody in here, because I dislike automatics....either all the belt drives, or the Honda's. That limits me to just a few manual transmission machines, but I only need a medium size trail quad anyway, so that is just fine with me.

For me, I have a Honda Rancher 420 and it is happily more sport quad than ute! It is super stable, SRA, and the fuel injected engine rips right off the bottom. My next purchase (to replace my 10 year old Rancher 350 that has never had a single problem!), will be the new Rancher 420AT. It is IRS and has a totally unique gear-on-gear dual clutch transmission that can either be shifted manually or left to shift on its own.

Old 04-16-2009, 03:00 PM
Trailblazer

I agree with recon ranger about going manual, you get far more control. I would say either a rancher or brute force. Try and get something with a shaft rather than a chain.