Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

New to 4Wheelers... 4wd or not? autoshift or not?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2014, 04:33 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to 4Wheelers... 4wd or not? autoshift or not?

I am looking for a fun used 4 wheeler - I went this past weekend to a guy that had several used ones he had fixed/whatever - intending to buy a 2wd for my wife and a 4wd for me. We did buy a 99 Honda Fourtrax300 2wd for her that was a blast, now I'm looking for something for me.

I think I want a 4x4 - only because I'd think that would make it more capable if I want to play in the mud or get into really rougher areas after I've gotten more riding experience.
Does that sound reasonable?

I test rode a couple of automatics, Kawasaki Prarie 360 and a Polaris Trail Boss 350(?) - and honestly they didn't seem as fun/sporty as the FourTrax, I'm guessing because of the automatic. for example, I'm brand new to this, but neither felt strong enough to pull the front wheels up or even do doughnuts (realizing a lot of that is knowing what you are doing, not just the quad - but that's the best way I know how to describe what I mean about fun/sporty/punchy/peppy)

Do all automatics feel less peppy than the footshift models, or was it something in particular about the ones that I tested?

I'm also finding that many of the 4x4s are full time 4wd, which without test riding one it's hard to know - but I'd assume it would also make them feel less fun/sporty than one in 2wd.

I know - I need to ride some of them to see how they feel, but since I'm shopping used, that can mean taking several hours to go see/ride each one.

I'm probably asking for too much - I'm trying to stay under $2500 or so, get selectable 4wd and footshift... oh, and EFI would be nice too... LOL

I guess I'm asking for advice on:
Is there an automatic that feels as punchy as a footshift?