Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Polaris, Can am, or Yamaha

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2014, 05:12 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Polaris, Can am, or Yamaha

Long story short, I have a can am ds 70 and outlander max xt. The max xt had an issue from the factory that has led to it and the ds 70 to be traded in. I loved the outlander, its power was awesome and it rarely got me stuck (im a beginner on an atv, no mods were done to it) but now that Im trading it in, Im thinking these other brands have some nice features. I want opinions of machines based on riding experience (everyone I talk to about it is VERY brand biased). Heres what i like/dislike about each machine (and the machines im looking at). Sidenote, I do minor trail riding, and go mudding, occasional rock crawling, and use it to plow.

2014 Polaris Sportsman touring le (2 up) I like how smooth it is, its like riding on a cloud. The features it comes with are awesome, and it allows for the wife to ride with me. I DISLIKE the single brake lever, seems silly to me. I also dislike the awd. I prefer to hit a switch/lever and know I have 4wd.

2014 Can Am outlander Max 650 xt I love the can am power, but past experience with it makes me edgy of the brand. The machine comes with pretty good tires and allows the wife to ride with. I dislike visco-lok. As an automotive mechanic, I dislike viscous clutches all around (leaky, unreliable) and it seems like the machine has to go back to the dealer for oil change reminder reset.

2014 Yamaha Grizzly 700 I LOVE the way they have 4wd with electric locker. It is depressing that the machine is not a 2 up, but I am hoping that if I go this route I can convince my wife to get her own 1 up. I am nervous about the single cylinder (heard that the larger displacement singles were gas hogs and low on power) but beyond that I like the grizzly.