Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Hello. Newbie looking to buy first ATV

Old 11-05-2016, 08:22 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello. Newbie looking to buy first ATV

Hello everyone
I'm brand new tooth's site and am looking for some general information on what to look for in an ATV and which ones can serve sort of a dual-purpose. I'd like a utility machine to help with work around the property (plowing, hauling logs/brush) but something that could be ridden for fun as well. My girlfriend is really the one that wants to ride it for fun. I have a DR650 for off-road riding.

Size wise, not sure what to look for. I am 48 yo, 6', 210. She is 45, 5'2, 110. It is possible that we would both be on the machine at the same time.

A couple of other factors. I have a lot of years of motorcycle experience, but not ATV experience. She has none. I'm quite mechanically inclined, so buying used does not concern me, but want to know if there are any models I should avoid.

I read a lot that buying a thumper (single-cyl) will likely serve my utility needs better than a twin., but the twins are better sport machines (which is why Ducatis rule! Sorry, I digress...).

I wouldn't necessarily be opposed to buying two machines if the recommendation was to buy something bigger utility-wise for me and a smaller sport machine for her. Budget is not a major concern either, but like everybody, i don't want to spend more than necessary. I probably would not be looking at brand-new, but again, not necessarily opposed to that.

Sorry for so many questions on my first post. I'm certain there will be many more.

Frank

Old 11-05-2016, 10:27 AM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts