Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Which ATV is the lowest maintence?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2004, 01:29 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which ATV is the lowest maintence?

Hello - I'm brand new to the forum and I'm thinking about buying my first ATV. I own a Triumph America, I've been riding motorcycles for 33 years. I'm 6'2, live in the mountains of North Idaho on 40 acres. I want to use the bike to plow snow, haul wood, help me fight noxious weeds, and ride the mountains. So -

I've got it narrowed down to (not in order of preference):
Kawasaki Prairie 700,
John Deere 650 (Bombardier),
Suzuki King Quad 700,
or a
Yamaha Grizzily 660

All of these look like great ATVs. I've ridden the Prairie (compared it with a BF 750 - the dealer was great!), and the the King Quad (wow); before I bought either of the other two I'd need to ride them as well.

My concern is maintence -
how often do I need to take it to the dealer for valve adjustments, etc? Dealers are like an hour away, or more.
How easy is it to change the oil and do the routine owner kinds of things?
How reliable are these machines (I know the King is a brand new model, so I guess only time will tell)?

Any insight you can give me would be really appreciated! Thanks!
Roadie

Old 12-31-2004, 04:56 PM
Pro Rider
Is old enough to know better, but too young to stop.

Anything you buy is going to have wrench time. ALthough some more than others. I can't speak for the Suzukis, polaris or cats... but I do own yamahas, and a Honda Rubicon. Of all the machines, the Rubicon has been the most trouble free of all of them. Plus, the tranny is different than all the others with it's hydralic tranny/torque converter like a car, versus the belts/mechanical torque converters on the others. Mine has had zero defects... and I ride hard, and use it hard... plus, I am in the 6'3"-6'4" 300 lb range, so I think we have a lot in common there.