CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

power kits and exhausts

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2004, 04:20 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default power kits and exhausts

I am new to ATV's and have questions about how to make my 04 DS650 perform better. I was thinking about getting one of the KN power kits that has the air filter, pre-ware, and dynojet kit.
1. Do I have to pipe it before doing this or will the power kit work with a stock exhaust until I can a Ron Wood?
2. Is the KN filter ok for very dusty conditions? I ride in Florida and have conflicting things about the KN letting in too much dust and harming the engine.
3. When I ride big whoops the front end feels like it is being pushed down even though I am leaning way back. Does that mean that I need to adjust the rebound or the compression dampening? and if so which way do I need to go with it to make the bike go across them instead of nose diving all the time.

Thanks for any help you can offer. I love riding and just need a little help from the veterans to get me going in the right direction.

Old 01-20-2004, 05:25 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes you can get the k&n kit with a stock pipe. If you put a pipe it will just give it that much more hp. The alba pipe works really well on my ds650. I have a k&n filter and jets and it works wonderful. I recomend it to anyone. But yes you can do this with a stock pipe.

Old 01-20-2004, 05:28 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The bombardiers are bad about noise diving when jumping i had the same problem but when i jumped it came all the way forward and i broke my collar bone so be careful on that. The K&N filters do really well in dirt its probably the best you can buy. Just Buy and outwear prefilter for it it will just help even more. On jumping i just dont jump and if i do i stay on the gas and it will bring the front end up.

Old 01-21-2004, 12:54 AM
Pro Rider